Lebanese philanthropist and entrepreneur Maroun Semaan is the first recipient of the AMIDEAST Education Hero Award for his significant contributions to the advancement of education in Lebanon. Mr. Semaan’s deep belief in the power of education to transform lives and prepare citizens to be effective leaders was inspired by his own experience as a scholarship recipient. He is an exemplar through his dedication to helping others pursue a world-class education. The Semaan Foundation, which he established, has supported the goals of a number of educational institutions. Of particular note, in early 2017 it gave the American University of Beirut (AUB) the largest financial donation of AUB’s history exceeding the former largest gift of $32 million. The Maroun Semaan Faculty of Engineering and Architecture was named after him in honor of his vision and support to the university. Mr. Semaan passed away in May 2017. The award will be accepted by his daughter, Nour, in the presence of his wife, Tania, and daughters, Tala and Maya.

“Mr. Semaan was chosen for his commitment to making quality education accessible to deserving students and for his abiding interest in philanthropy to bring positive and lasting change. He built an enduring legacy that will continue to transform countless lives for the better.”

– Harry H. Nadjarian
Gala Chairman
and Los Angeles-based
Industrial Motor Power Corporation Chairman

Harry H. Nadjarian, Chairman

Rabi Aboulhosn • Ramona Agruma • Ahmad Al Khatib • Pattyl Aposhian Kasparian • Barbara Batlouni • Kamal Bilal, Esq. • TJ Chalhoub • Rudy Dekermenjian, Esq. • Fouad El-Abd • Lana Eljerr Boustani • Fady Garabet • Milia Garabet • Karim Jaude • Joseph Kanimian, Esq. • Karim Kano • Adib C. Kassis • Sevak Khatchadourian • Sylva Krikorian • Sally Ann Lauren • Betsy Maalouf • Alexandra Nadjarian • Honida Saad • Karen Srour • Katarina Tarazi • Gregory Touma • Vahe Yacoubian, Esq.


Mr. Anis Nassar, Chairman
Mrs. Asma Zein, Vice Chair
Mrs. Wafa Saab, Secretary
Mrs. Barbara Shahin Batlouni, Lebanon Country Director

Mr. Amine Abboud • Mr. Hussam Abu Issa • Mrs. Salwa Al Siniora Baassiri • Mr. Walid Assaf • Mr. Michael E. Asseily • Mr. Hanna Ayoub • Mr. Amid Baroudi • Mr. Moustafa Bissat • Dr. Paul Boulos • Mr. Nabil Bustros • Mr. Habib Debs • Mr. Mounir Douaidy • Mr. George Doumet • Mr. Riad El Sadik • Mr. Antoine N. Frem • Ms. Maha Kaddoura • Mr. Mishal Hamed Kanoo • Mr. Georges Makhoul • Mrs. May Makhzoumi • Dr. Nada Mourtada-Sabbah • Mr. Youssef Matar • Mr. Mustafa Miqdadi • Mr. Harry H. Nadjarian • Mrs. Tania Semaan • Mr. Robert Tarazi • Mrs. Rana Zaim Idriss • Mr. Salim Zeenni

Washington D.C.

Dr. Mary W. Gray, Chair
The Honorable Theodore H. Kattouf, President and Chief Executive Officer
The Honorable Nicholas A. Veliotes, Vice Chair
The Honorable Robert H. Pelletreau, Treasurer

Board Members
Mr. Richard Abdoo (Emeritus) • Mr. Hussam Abu Issa • Dr. Odeh Aburdene • Mr. Kutayba Yusuf Alghanim • Ms. Judith Barnett • Dr. Mondher Ben Ayed • Dr. Paul F. Boulos • Ms. Katharine Cushing • The Honorable Robert S. Dillon (Emeritus) • Mr. Hasan M. El-Khatib • Mr. Antoine N. Frem • The Honorable Edward M. Gabriel • Mr. Mohammed Grimeh • Dr. Taher Helmy • Dr. Alan W. Horton (Emeritus) • Mrs. Ghada Irani • Dr. Paul Jabber • Dr. Samir Khalaf (Emeritus) • Dr. Mary E. King (Emerita) • Mr. D. Patrick Maley III • The Honorable William A. Rugh • Mr. Frederick C. Seibold, Jr., Esq • Mr. Alex Shalaby • H.E. Leila Abdul Hamid Sharaf • Dr. Mostafa Terrab • Mr. J.T. (Jack) Tymann (Emeritus) • Dr. Hillary Wiesner

AMIDEAST Gala Phone 424-389-3646
Non-Profit Tax ID # 53-0243270


Entertainment by:

Najwa Karam

Guy Manoukian

California Crooners Club

Host – Mr. Ricardo Karam, Journalist